The MLB All-Star Game is Basically Cubs vs. Red Sox

MLB All-Star Game

Last night the MLB announced the 2016 MLB All-Stars after a fan vote, and it’s clear two fan bases really took it to heart. The Cubs have the entire starting infield and seven total all-stars for the NL side, while the Red Sox have four starters and six total all-stars for the AL team. The fan vote is important but these two teams are some of the best in baseball.

The Chicago Cubs have long been building a core around young talent who broke it big last year and made it to the NL Championship Series last year. This season the Cubs have started off on fire, and while the team has since fallen back to earth, they still boast the best record in baseball. Representing the Cubs in the infield are their big hitters: first baseman Anthony Rizzo and NL home-run leader Kris Bryant. In addition, utility man Ben Zobrist, 22-year-old Addison Russell, and speedster Dexter Fowler are also NL starters for the Cubs. The other starters for the National League are Giants catcher Buster Posey, Mets outfielder Yoenis Cespedes, and reigning MVP Bryce Harper.

On the AL side, the Red Sox are currently in third in their division but are still in place for a playoff berth. Starting in the Mid-Summer Classic for them are three young studs playing in their first all-star game and a legend possibly playing in his last. Red Sox 23-year-old shortstop Xander Bogaerts will start in addition to outfielders Jackie Bradley Jr. and Mookie Betts. Joining the young hitters will be DH David Ortiz making his 10th All-Star Game appearance. In addition to the Red Sox, the Royals will have two starters in catcher Salvador Perez and first baseman Eric Hosmer. Rounding out the AL starters is Jose Altuve of the Astros, Manny Machado of the Orioles, and Mike Trout of the Angels.

The 2016 MLB All-Star Game will take place on Tuesday, July 12, with the Home-Run Derby taking place the night before. As always the Mid-Summer Classic is the only all-star game of the major sports to carry any weight. The winning league receives home field advantage in the World Series. There is also a final vote on 5 players in either league for the last All-Star spots that fans can vote for here. Below is a list of all the players selected for either league.


C: Salvador Perez, Royals
1B: Eric Hosmer, Royals
2B: Jose Altuve, Astros
3B: Manny Machado, Orioles
SS: Xander Bogaerts, Red Sox
OF: Mookie Betts, Red Sox
OF: Jackie Bradley Jr., Red Sox
OF: Mike Trout, Angels
DH: David Ortiz, Red Sox

C: Stephen Vogt, Athletics
C: Matt Wieters, Orioles
1B: Miguel Cabrera, Tigers
2B: Robinson Cano, Mariners
3B: Josh Donaldson, Blue Jays
SS: Francisco Lindor, Indians
SS: Eduardo Nunez, Twins
OF: Carlos Beltran, Yankees
OF: Ian Desmond, Rangers
OF: Mark Trumbo, Orioles
DH: Edwin Encarnacion, Blue Jays

RHP: Dellin Betances, Yankees
RHP: Brad Brach, Orioles
LHP: Zach Britton, Orioles
RHP: Alex Colome, Rays
RHP: Wade Davis, Royals
RHP: Marco Estrada, Blue Jays
LHP: Cole Hamels, Rangers
RHP: Will Harris, Astros
RHP: Kelvin Herrera, Royals
RHP: Craig Kimbrel, Red Sox
LHP: Andrew Miller, Yankees
RHP: Danny Salazar, Indians
LHP: Chris Sale, White Sox
RHP: Steven Wright, Red Sox

Final Vote candidates
2B: Ian Kinsler, Tigers
3B: Evan Longoria, Rays
2B: Dustin Pedroia, Red Sox
OF: Michael Saunders, Blue Jays
OF: George Springer, Astros


C: Buster Posey, Giants
1B: Anthony Rizzo, Cubs
2B: Ben Zobrist, Cubs
3B: Kris Bryant, Cubs
SS: Addison Russell, Cubs
OF: Yoenis Cespedes, Mets
OF: Dexter Fowler, Cubs
OF: Bryce Harper, Nationals

C: Jonathan Lucroy, Brewers
C: Wilson Ramos, Nationals
1B: Paul Goldschmidt, D-backs
1B: Wil Myers, Padres
2B: Daniel Murphy, Nationals
3B: Nolan Arenado, Rockies
3B: Matt Carpenter, Cardinals
SS: Corey Seager, Dodgers
OF: Adam Duvall, Reds
OF: Carlos Gonzalez, Rockies
OF: Odubel Herrera, Phillies
OF: Marcell Ozuna, Marlins

RHP: Jake Arrieta, Cubs
LHP: Madison Bumgarner, Giants
RHP: Johnny Cueto, Giants
RHP: Jeurys Familia, Mets
RHP: Jose Fernandez, Marlins
RHP: Kenley Jansen, Dodgers
LHP: Clayton Kershaw, Dodgers
LHP: Jon Lester, Cubs
RHP: Mark Melancon, Pirates
RHP: A.J. Ramos, Marlins
RHP: Fernando Rodney, Marlins
RHP: Stephen Strasburg, Nationals
RHP: Noah Syndergaard, Mets
RHP: Julio Teheran, Braves

Final Vote candidates
1B: Brandon Belt, Giants
OF: Ryan Braun, Brewers
3B: Jake Lamb, D- backs
OF: Starling Marte, Pirates
SS: Trevor Story, Rockies

  • SHARE:
Benjamin Harrison

A recent Luther College graduate, Ben spent a year in Nottingham, England and now resides in Nashville, TN. He has worked for numerous student radio stations and has been an intern for ESPN Nashville. Can probably be found watching, reading, writing or talking about sports. You can follow him @lilbennyboy_65 on Twitter.